Best all-weather tire for mpg - Club Crosstrek | Subaru XV Crosstrek Forums
Club Crosstrek | Subaru XV Crosstrek Forums

Old 04-14-2017, 07:16 PM   #1

Default Best all-weather tire for mpg

Hi! The tires on my new Subaru are pretty worn and I intend to replace them at the end of summer. I want all weather tires (changing them in/out seasonally is annoying to me) and I'm primarily a city street/highway driver so off-road isn't an issue. I've heard about various tires affecting mpg and I'd like to have something that doesn't impact the good mileage I'm currently getting. Any suggestions?

(P.S. I know I can't have it all, but frugal options are great too!)

cnmne is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-14-2017, 07:21 PM   #2
Site Team

My Vehicle: 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek 5MT

It's simple, you can search for LRR (low rolling resistance) tires on various websites, including the big one, TireRack.

If you're not a spirited driver and hold absolutely no value in sporty tires, a regular LRR all-season will do. If you want better handling while retaining comfort, LRR touring and grand touring tires will be best.

Here's a link that should have that criteria in mind. I included both passenger car tires and light truck tires (not P-metric and LT-metric but rather car vs SUV/crossover/truck tires)

All LRR tires listed on Tire Rack:
https://www.tirerack.com/tires/TireS...inLoadRating=S

If link does not work, just search based on vehicle, then click the box that says "Low Rolling Resistance" below the tab titled the same thing.
Old 04-14-2017, 08:53 PM   #3

Thanks! Are there any brands to steer clear of? (Generally speaking. I've always just purchased 'whatever' tires.)

Also, what's the benefit of sporty tires? I'm afraid this is the first time I've really ever considered what type of tire suits me. What does it mean to be a spirited driver?
cnmne is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-14-2017, 09:15 PM   #4