Up here in the ND/MT oil field... Looking at the Crosstrek need input - Club Crosstrek | Subaru XV Crosstrek Forums
Club Crosstrek | Subaru XV Crosstrek Forums

Old 02-08-2013, 10:49 AM   #1

My Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Default Up here in the ND/MT oil field... Looking at the Crosstrek need input

Hi all!

Nice place you have here... Well, I work out of Montana over on the North Dakota side of the Bakken oil field. I currently have a 2010 Dodge Ram pickup, it's a lease, with a few months left. Honestly, I could run out and grab another Ram, but boy am I tired of pickups, especially the weekly $100 fill ups.

So, you all seem to like these CTs, are they really that good? Oil field tough? Not that I'm going to be tearing around out by the rigs, but I really am concerned with the horse power, or lack there of. Most everyone out here drives 70+ on the two lanes, including big trucks, which is what I drive for a living. Honestly worried about getting run over, as there are few cops out here to keep these yahoos in check. Four fatalities in the past week, two separate accidents all within a mile of my camp.

If anyone is up this way that has a Crosstrek I would surely appreciate any thoughts.

Mike

Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-08-2013, 02:23 PM   #2
Site Team

My Vehicle: 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek 5MT
Default Re: Up here in the ND/MT oil field... Looking at the Crosstrek need input

Horsepower is adequate. If anything, it's in line with older models acceleration numbers.

But if you're concerned about passing power, perhaps taking a look at the new 2014 Subaru Forester may be a better option. The base model has a 170HP flat-4, and the new Forester XT has a 250+HP turbocharged flat-4 that shouldn't have you complaining about passing power.
Old 02-08-2013, 09:57 PM   #3

Default Re: Up here in the ND/MT oil field... Looking at the Crosstrek need input

Quote:
Originally Posted by AWDfreak