Subaru Remote Start Self Installation? - Club Crosstrek | Subaru XV Crosstrek Forums
Club Crosstrek | Subaru XV Crosstrek Forums
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2015, 08:55 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 37
Default Subaru Remote Start Self Installation?

I have read the threads I could find on the idiosyncrasies (read idiocy) of the Subaru factory remote start. I can still see the good in having something that says Subaru on it, though.
Has anyone self installed a 'Subaru' remote start system on a Crosstrek?

How difficult was it?

Does the system come with instructions?

What is the range you experienced from the remote?


I was quoted $580 (all included) for the Subaru system installed. That is a few bucks more than a Viper at the local shop that will not turn off when you open the door. I am fairly capable when it comes to things like this. I just want to have all the facts about whether I could do the Subaru one myself.

Thanks in advance!!

__________________
2013 Crosstrek Limited
madmaxmutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-05-2015, 08:17 PM   #2
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Default

I'm curious as well
AutumnXV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 12:01 AM   #3
Full Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 111
My Vehicle: 2014 XV Crosstrek Limited CVT (ISM)
Default

As far as I know the factory remote start is plug & play but requires programming by the dealer. The install seems a bit complicated because you have to remove numerous parts of the interior/dashboard. There's a pdf available on the Subaru tech site.

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
__________________
Mark
2014 XV Crosstrek CVT - Ice Silver Metallic
MarkEagleUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2015, 02:36 AM   #4
Site Team
 
AWDfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,940
My Vehicle: 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek 5MT
Default

If it requires programming by the dealer, I'm presuming it will require Subaru's proprietary scantool called the Subaru Select Monitor, which I am aware is supposedly in its third generation. If it does, it will require this expensive scan tool so unless you have access to one (presuming the installation requires the scantool), it would be far cheaper to take it to the dealer.
__________________
"Why would I want to profess my feelings for some 3D girl?" - Tomoya Aki from the anime Saekano
AWDfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.