Raspberry Pi 3 Infotainment System - Club Crosstrek | Subaru XV Crosstrek Forums
Club Crosstrek | Subaru XV Crosstrek Forums

Old 10-13-2016, 10:26 PM   #1
Site Team

Default Raspberry Pi 3 Infotainment System

Hey All,

After getting inspired by a project another member did with an Arduino and led flashers, as well as input from another member, I have decided to light a fire under my asset on a project I've been toying around with for over two years, starting with my old B5 Audi. My hopes in putting this out here is to spark a community project where we can help each other and solve any issues that arise.

I would like to build an infotainment system that does a few key things:

1). Act as a full media player, including navigation

2). Display Engine Data via OBD2 (including reading and clearing codes, and watching things like engine temp on an ongoing basis)

3). Run ECUFlash to allow me to change between the ecu tunes I have from Throttle Happy

4). Do all of the above in a multitasking and intuitive manner

I will be using the Raspberry Pi Model 3 as the computer. It seems to offer the best features, low cost, and has the benefit of huge support on the interwebz for troubleshooting. The model 3 has built in WiFi and Bluetooth, the former could help with navigation and setup, while the latter is obviously a necessity for any modern infotainment system. I will also probably use the Raspberry Pi 7" Touchscreen, as that seems to offer great look, feel, and features (no need to add accessories to power it from the R_Pi3).

So here is where I'm at with each of the points above:

1). I could easily use Kodi here. It offers a full media interface, and using Kodi CarPi allows navigation. It also has huge support, again allowing easier troubleshooting. The downfalls are that its still a bit clunky, and the navigation isn't the best. The FM radio navigation is not intuitive at all, and could be difficult to use if you were to try to change radio stations while driving.