Subaru XV Crosstrek Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy,

I just got my 2016 Crosstrek last night, and already love it. I'm coming from a '02 WRX Wagon with 215/70/16 studded snow tires, so it's a change for me.

I'm starting my research on what I need to do to fit the 215/70/16 tires from my WRX onto the Crosstrek.

My plans are:
Mud Flaps
1" Lift
Possibly 1" Spacers if needed for my 16" wheels
Brush Guard with LIGHTS

'02 WRX Wagon!
[/URL][/IMG]

New '16 Crosstrek!

·
Registered
90 Posts
Welcome to the forum. I'm new to Subaru so I can't help myself in whether the tires will fit but I'm sure others will chime in. Enjoy your new ride.

·
Registered
811 Posts
It may fit but you could have rubbing. Slightly narrower by 0.4" but diameter is 1.11" larger. Not sure a lift of 1" will help. Not a lot of room from front to back in the wheel wells. 215/65/16 would be a better size. GL with the fitment.

·
Premium Member
2,941 Posts
Welcome to the club!

What made you switch to the XV from a WRX? The ride height? The higher MPG?

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Welcome to the club!

What made you switch to the XV from a WRX? The ride height? The higher MPG?
I was spending $$$ and time every month on my '02 to keep it happy. Few months ago was rear wheel bearings and hubs. 2 weeks ago the day before a 400 mile trip, the front driver's axle decided to die. Couple weeks before that the thermostat decieded to die... I figured I would rather spend money on a car payment with warranty, than these issues that keep popping up.

I love the ride height, will love it more once I get my 215/70/16 tires on. The MPG is amazing too! I wasn't a fan of the new Forester and Outback. They don't make a WRX Hatch anymore. So I knew it had to be the Crosstrek.

Can't wait to get it lifted. I'm having a great time learning all about my new baby. I've already done the "charcoal filter mod".

·
Registered
34 Posts