Subaru XV Crosstrek Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok ladies and Gents I am here to provide you with a cheap cost effective tool that will pay for itself that can by used even by the simplist of children to the most old school of elderly!

http://www.amazon.com/Autel-MaxiScan-MS300-Diagnostic-Vehicles/dp/B001LHVOVK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1365774227&sr=8-1&keywords=scan+tool

What this is, is a scan tool that can read codes off of your check engine light and your VDC light and other code producing lights for your OBDII(on board diagnostics 2) computer systems that have been federally mandated by the government that required all vehicles that are sold in the US to have from 1996 and above.
It comes with a book and a cd that has basic codes that all vehicles have or you can just google a code or even obtain all the code charts for the TRekk. Easy to use if there are any questions I am a mechanic and I specialize in Subarus cause i think they are the best cars in the world maybe not the fastest but damnit they are made with love and its customers are part of a family that we show respect everytime we pass by someone driving a Subaru!!!!

·
Registered
927 Posts
That's not too bad for basic scanner. I like the ELM327 wirelss or BT adapter($15) from amazon

and the android app Torque for $4.99. Allows you real-time scanning of sensors, diagnostics, clearing codes and more. Much more in depth and you can datalog to your PC

Sent from my iPad II using Tapatalk

·
Registered
194 Posts
Unless there's a problem there shouldn't be anything to scan for on a new car. If there are codes, the average DIY'r can't fix them anyway. Or it still needs to be reset when it is fixed. Our cars are under warranty.

·
Registered
927 Posts
True CJ... But it's great for the advanced DIYer like myself to get into the logic and see how things 'Normally' run... Data log a few scans... And save them for later comparisons if needed.